Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join/Renew
Virtual Meeting: World Religions Teachers
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

 Export to Your Calendar 10/3/2019 to 12/3/2019
When: Various Dates, See below
4:00 PM
Where: online
United States


Online registration is available until: 10/2/2019
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Registration

Meetings are free for CSEE member schools (please sign in and register at the link above; your balance will be $0). Those not in a member school are welcome to register for the whole 19-20 series of meetings for $100. Just before the event, CSEE will send you a link to join the meetings on Zoom.

 

Description

 

Thursday Oct. 3rd: 4pm-5pm EST / 1pm-2pm PST
Major Projects and Culminating Assessments


Wednesday Nov. 6th: 3:30pm-4:30pm EST / 12:30pm-1:30pm PST

Decolonizing the Religious Studies Curriculum and the Religious Literacy Project's Methodology for teaching about Religions.


Tuesday Dec. 3rd: 2pm-3pm EST / 11am-12pm PST
Professional Development Opportunities and Inter-Disciplinary Approaches to Teaching about Religions

 

 

 

Group Facilitator

Brian Blackmore teaches Quakerism, World Religions, Peace and Social Justice Studies, and Liberation Theology at Westtown School, a Quaker boarding school in the suburbs of Philadelphia. He completed two masters degrees at the Chicago Theological Seminary before moving to teach at Westtown. He is also a (part-time) Ph.D. student at Temple University with research interests in best pedagogy for teaching about world religions at the intersections of gender and sexuality. Brian has also presented and facilitated discussions at two of CSEE's Summer Institutes on Teaching World Religions.

 

 

About Virtual Department Meetings

Many educators in CSEE focus areas are in a "department of one" at their schools (ie. the only service learning director, the only world religions teacher). Virtual Department Meetings are an opportunity for these educators to connect with their peers in other independent schools, to talk shop and to share ideas. These meetings are free for CSEE members, $100 for the year for non-members.


 

CSEE | 910 M Street NW #722, Washington, DC 20001 | (800) 298-4599

 

 

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal